History of the Navy Foundation

Early Retired Officers Organisations

Prior to the formation of the Navy Foundation, the following retired naval officers’ bodies were functioning across India:-

  • The ‘Navy League’ at Delhi and Kolkata.
  • The ‘Anchor Hold’ at Mumbai.
  • ‘Association of Retired Naval Officers’ at Kochi.
  • ‘Retired Naval Officers Association’ at Pune.

Formation of Navy Foundation

The Navy Foundation was formed on 27 Dec 1988. Its aim was to serve as an umbrella organisation so as to have a more uniform system to serve the retired naval officers better. The Foundation was registered under the Societies Registration Act 1860 on 29 Sep 1988. Click here to view the Memorandum of Association and here to read the late Adm JG Nadkarni’s narrative on the manner in which the Navy Foundation was conceptualised and came into being. Consequent to its formation, all retired naval officers’ associations passed their own resolutions and incorporated themselves as part of the Navy Foundation.


The Navy Foundation had only six chapters at inception. Today it has grown to 15 chapters viz. Chandigarh, Delhi, Jaipur, Lucknow, Mumbai, Pune, Goa, Kolkata, Odisha (Bhubaneswar), Visakhapatnam, Hyderabad, Chennai, Coimbatore, Kerala (Kochi) and Bengaluru.

Navy Foundation Pune Chapter

The Navy Foundation Pune Chapter originally started out as the Navy Foundation Pune Charter on 01 Oct 1989. It changed its name to Navy Foundation Pune Chapter on 09 Feb 1990. Click here to see a list of all office bearers of NFPC from 1989.

Founding Principles

The Founding Principles of the Navy Foundation were set out as follows:-

  • It will be an apolitical and secular organization.
  • Will maintain contact and fraternal relationships amongst naval veterans.
  • It will place veterans at the disposal of the Government in the event of war or calamities.
  • It will carry out charitable, social, philanthropic, cultural, educational and other activities for the benefit of the retired fraternity and look after their interests.